So excited, the story was published!

http://tinyhousetalk.com/50s-woman-builds-debt-free-tiny-home/

4 responses to “So excited, the story was published!

  1. Wow. I woke up this morning tired, discouraged. I am a single mom to two very small boys in the Boston area, and yes, scraping by one day at a time. I just barely managed to pull my house out of foreclosure this month so that I could rent it out to someone else, and my boys and I now share a one-bedroom apartment in the best school district I could afford, hoping to find a way to stay here for the next decade and a half through the horrifying experience of New England daycare/childcare + rent + a single income. We’re all sick with spring colds and pinkeye, we have no family nearby, and the ex (only marginally helpful at best, when he’s not making things much worse) is away with the military and still managing to bounce checks.

    Sitting quietly with my younger son, I was flipping through the list of tiny house blogs I read almost daily, having long been a huge fan of Tumbleweed and the movement, and I saw your post. I cried and cried. It is so lonely sometimes. Reading the story of someone who has been there and made it where I want to be was so inspiring. I really needed that today. Last night I set a deadline – 2 more years and if I can’t turn things around, I move home to upstate NY – but only ever so reluctantly. I like it here. I don’t want to leave!

    Thank you for telling your story. I look forward to going through all of your entries to hear more and learn more.

    • Must be the day for inspiration! I was inspired by something
      Jim Carey said at a commencement (You Tube). Thank you for sharing that. I don’t know the details of your life nor would I mean to pry. The only thing I can suggest to you is that if you have managed to get this far then don’t hit the hold button on your life 4 two years because by the time 2 years rolls around other things will have come up. Make a plan now, move toward it, and then if 2 years hits as you think it may, all you have to do is execute it. If you have no plan 2 years will roll around and you’ll possibly be scratching your head or crying.

  2. For what it’s worth. As a (reluctantly) single man in his late 60s who had to go back to work at this late date I really identified with your story. Please keep writing on every part of your journey as there are lots of women AND men out there who will find inspiration in your easy story telling style and can do attitude.

    • Truly sorry to hear that. I would love to hear more about how you managed your transition back into the work world because I’m currently trying to reposition myself and it’s challenging for several reasons… Thanks for letting me know the story isn’t as gender specific as I thought it was.

Leave a Reply

