2015 Here We Come!

108 countries and over 148,000 views, all from something that started as a means to keep about 8 or 10 people up to date with my progress. Thank you to all those who have taken the time to say hello and share their own stories. Happy 2015!

7 responses to “2015 Here We Come!

  1. You are truly an inspiration, I also never met Dee Williams but she inspired me too. I am now 61 y.o. and built my little house myself on a 22ft travel trailer frame, I don’t travel with it so I blocked it up off ground and its on 10 acres I purchased in an off grid area. Congradulations and heres to many years mortgage free!

    • I didnt do mine because of mortgages. I raised my kids by myself, lost everything a couple of times, ended up homeless twice, and it was the only way I could attempt to put a roof over my head. Best of luck to you in your future comfort!

      • I too raised my 3 kids alone and lived in campgrounds a few times and could not afford rent anywhere so decided to build a tiny house because I have a very limited budget and rent or house payments were out of the question, I haul water and have a small solar set up that was a gift from my daughter a few years ago, and a composting toilet, I love the quiet where I am at . I love to hear about other women that have built their own homes, yours is a very touching story and you look to be a woman with great will and determination best of luck to you also.

      • Part of what has been so amazing to me is all the people like yourself who have connected and shared stories and experiences. Thank you.

  2. When I read the part about how long a canister of propane lasts I laughed as I know too that for each and no longer use my fridge as it cost too much, my little propane heater is my propane hog now as its been around zero for a while and I have to have it on day and night.Thank you for just being out there and sharing.

  3. Thank you for sharing your story. I was a single mom with two daughters and experienced many challenges so I can relate. I am unemployed at the moment and have thought so much about when I get on my feet and having a way to have a home of my own as well as wanting to simplify. You have certainly made me think about what I could let go of. I have researched all the different ways of building earth homes, straw bale, etc. and I am fascinated with the tiny homes too. I know you built yours out of necessity and I commend you for taking the bull by the horns. You inspire me. I hope things are better for you now, Shirley.

    • Nanine,
      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I still have a few challenges going on (mostly related to economics) and have been working with other women who are strategizing on how they can restructure their lives in a way to try to make some money right from where they currently are sitting in life. If you have things you no longer want or need you may be able to use some of that to generate some cash for yourself and in turn use that cash to move yourself ever so slightly forward toward your build.

Leave a Reply

